A hard RESET

Reset

Have you ever wanted a “reset” in life? I remember growing up I was a pretty avid gamer. The graphics on Pitfall were amazing! What I remember is that if you got in a jam on the game or maybe if the game froze up, there was a simple thing that you did. You just hit the reset button and you got a fresh start. Game on!

When it comes to life, we all wish we could hit that reset button. I know that in my ministry throughout the years I have let a lot of people down. I am sure that through the years I have hurt my family by not being there when I should have been. There are many days that my spiritual life has been pretty weak at best and I have rushed into my day without asking for God’s guidance. There are times when I have said something and the moment I said it I wished I had never spoken. It would be easier to put the toothpaste back in the tube, but the real truth is we can’t even put the toothpaste lid back on let alone back in the tube.

Life can be pretty messy and we end up hurting people along the way. I’ll never forget my first day on the job working at Bethel IGA. I was the new guy so I was told to fill the milk, which was the rookie job. I had to load the crates up on a two-wheeler and take them out about six to eight crates high. Everyone was scrambling around to get their work done so we could get out of there at 10 o’clock.  Of course, I was moving quickly too with that awkward first day on the job trying to impress everyone urgency. Did I mention that I was a rookie already? Did I mention that it was the first day on the job and that I was trying to really impress the boss?  Did I mention that you are supposed to hold the crates of milk as you pull back on the two-wheeler so the crates don’t fall over? Well, no one mentioned it to me on that day either so the next question is, do you know how much square footage about 20 gallons of busted milk will cover? Go home today and bust just one gallon on your kitchen floor to see. Needless to say it was in that moment I desperately needed a reset button. I cringed in that moment and felt pretty stupid. Also, by the way, my big brother worked there too and in that moment he did not have the gift of encouragement.

It’s one of those experiences I can laugh about today. In life however there are really messy hurts and brokenness that we don’t forget. There are moments when we let someone down and created a real mess for their lives. Even if you have done that, you may not be able to change what you did but can I tell you about the greatest reset button of ALL time? Jesus Christ on the cross said “IT is finished”, and with that for those who put their trust in him, RESET!!!

Psalm 103:11-12

“For His unfailing love toward those who fear Him is as great as the height of the heavens above the earth. He has removed our sins as far from us as the east is from the west.”

RESET!!!

Revelation 21:5 (ESV)

“And He who was seated on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new.” Also He said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.”

RESET!!!

May we learn to live and trust in those words,  RESET!

Brian White

 

 

Leave a Reply

